clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Raptors 905’s Flynn, Ellenson, and Johnson named to G League Second Team, and more

As we wrap up with the 2021 G League season, some Raptors 905ers have claimed a few more accolades: they’re on the Second Team, the All-Defensive team, and the Rookie Team.

NBA: Charlotte Hornets at Toronto Raptors Mary Holt-USA TODAY Sports

While the Raptors continue to struggle, we can take some solace in the accolades still coming in for the Raptors 905, their G League affiliate. Earlier today, the G League announced its All-NBA G League teams and wouldn’t you know it: three 905ers made the Second Team. As spoiled by the headline, Malachi Flynn, Henry Ellenson, and Alize Johnson were all recognized.

(Shout out to former Raptor and 905er — and Canadian! — Oshae Brissett for making it in there too.)

But that’s not all, fresh off of winning the Defensive Player of the Year award, Gary Payton II was named to the G League’s All-Defensive team, of course.

And rounding out the special year for the Raptors 905, and for his young career so far, Flynn was also named to the G League’s All-Rookie team.

In all, it’s worth noting that Ellenson, Johnson, and Flynn are now the first 905 players to get named to an All-NBA G League Second Team. To provide some historical context, the squad has been producing All-Team performers for awhile now, with Chris Boucher, Jordan Loyd, Lorenzo Brown, and Edy Tavares making the First Team, and Axel Toupane making the Third Team previously. As for Payton II winning all the defensive awards this season, the Raptors 905 have been there before with both Boucher and Tavares. It’s cool to note how the 905 are seemingly always in the mix come awards season.

In one more unique note: Flynn is now the first and only Raptors 905 player to ever make the All-Rookie Team. He’s with the Raptors now and has since moved up in the rotation, and while the team is struggling, Flynn has been doing what he can to carry his weight.

Once again, we congrats the Raptors 905 along with Flynn, Ellenson, Johnson, Payton II — and sure, Chad Sanders to for his Executive of the Year win too. They deserve their flowers!