FanPost

Reviewing Last Year's Offseason

Last year I posted an offseason report card about Colangelo's moves (http://www.raptorshq.com/2009/9/9/1023312/raptors-offseason-report-card). This offseason isn't done yet, so until then I'd like to revisit my opinions last year and see how they compare to now.

 

May 11, 2009 - Jay Triano signed as head coach

I wasn't too fond of the signing last season because Jay Triano was a rookie coach and we wanted to win now. Now that the season has ended, I think he did a poor job managing the personalities in the locker room and was too stubborn with his lineups (the Jose-Jack lineup, specifically). I gave this coach signing a C+ last year, and I think it's about right given Jay's performance this past season. With that being said, I think he's much better suited for the upcoming season (assuming we continue in this "rebuild" mode).

June 9, 2009 - Kapono traded for Reggie Evans

Unfortunately Reggie was injured for much of the season and couldn't contribute the way he should. I gave this trade an A- last year because Reggie plugged a hole (rebounding) for us. I think he was a great addition to the team chemistry wise, it's just unfortunate he wasn't healthy. At this point I'd give that trade a B.

June 25, 2009 - DeMar DeRozan is drafted

Last year I was very high on DD's athleticism and youth. It's hard to judge potential after just one season, but DD didn't really show us many glimpses of truly being a great player. Of course, when you're the 5th option on a top 5 offensive team, it's very easy to fade into the background. I like that DeRozan didn't force the issue on offense, but his defensive shortcomings were a bit glaring. Last year I give this pick an A. Right now, I'd give it a B+.

July 7, 2009 - Andrea Bargnani signs 5-year 50 million dollar extension

Andrea didn't really show much this past season. His single coverage showed a little bit of improvement, but he seemed to regress from the three point arc. He added a bit of a post game, which was nice, but nothing substantial enough. Really this grade still can't be assessed until next season, when we see if Bargs will flourish or fail as the 1st offensive option. Last year I gave this extension a B-, and I think it's still a pretty fair assessment.

July 9, 2009 - Toronto Acquires Hedo Turkoglu, Antoine Wright, and Devean George in a 4-way trade

Oh dear. Last season I gave this trade a B. Given the way the Hedo situation turned out, and Antoine Wright's inconsistency off the bench, I think it's safe to say this transaction deserved much less than that. I warned about Hedo's bad shot selection, and that his defense would get worse without Dwight Howard (duh?), but even I didn't foresee the absolute PR and locker room nightmare that Hedo would eventually become.

Anything more than a C- would come from a BC fan boy, but personally I think this transaction deserves an F. Because it failed. Miserably.

July 13, 2009 - Jarret Jack Signed for 4 years, 20 million

Last year I felt this signing meant Jack was a little overpaid. After a slow start to the season (really slow, actually), Jack picked it up and got a very respectable PER rating while also improving his assists. I no longer think Jack is overpaid at all, and his leadership role with the young players is great to see and hear about, even in the offseason. I gave this grade a B+ last year, but would upgrade it to an A-.

July 30, 2009 - Devean George traded for Marco Belinelli

I was quite high on Belinelli last season, and after his January stretch of being a solid role player, he quickly settled back into his inconsistent ways. Marco found himself out of the rotation by the end of the season, and if he doesn't improve his shot selection, shooting percentage, and consistency, then I don't see a future in the NBA for him. Still though, we did get him for Devean George... Last year I gave this trade an A+, but now I'd give it a C.

July 30, 2009 - Rasho Nesterovic signed to a 1 year deal

I was pretty high on this signing as well. Rasho was supposed to come in and provide some veteran leadership in the locker room. But reports have surfaced that he actually contributed to the locker-room divide, siding with Hedo Turkoglu. He still gave the Raptors some pretty good minutes off the bench. Last year I gave this signing a B, now I give it a C+.

August 18, 2009 - Carlos Delfino and Roko Ukic traded for Amir Johnson and Sonny Weems

Like pretty much everyone else out there, I completely neglected the "Sonny Weems" addition to this trade. I also didn't think Amir would contribute as much and as consistently as he did. Last year I gave this trade a B+, but now I'd give it an A+.

Conclusion

This past season was a major disappointment. Luckily, it had a few bright spots here and there. After going through all the excitement (at least up to the All-star break) and the drama (thanks Hedo), I'd give this past season a C-. That is, below average. I don't think it was a complete failure - we managed to provide DeRozan with some respectable minutes. Weems emerged as a decent role player. Amir showed he could be a consistent contributor. And Jack showed he could hold down the fort if Calderon was not around (although, Calderon was very good when he was around... at least offensively). Last year I gave these transactions a B-... it's too bad that grade is too high :(.

X
Log In Sign Up

forgot?
Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

Join Raptors HQ

You must be a member of Raptors HQ to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Raptors HQ. You should read them.

Join Raptors HQ

You must be a member of Raptors HQ to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Raptors HQ. You should read them.

Spinner

Authenticating

Great!

Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.

tracking_pixel_9347_tracker